Photos: Skating on a frozen lake in Sweden on a Sunday morning

We had a birthday party for my son – he turned three! – this weekend, and the day after, I got to go skating for an hour. I am not a good skater and I use hockey skates, not the long-distance kind, but I do not fall down, and it helps me embrace the winter and the crystaline, yet weak, morning light.

Our lake is surrounded by ugliness – even more so with the new national soccer stadium looming over it – but it is protected still by a thin wall of trees so you can feel the quiet, especially in the frozen winter when you can skate around and around on the big ice road.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

