Can we find a school that builds on creativity, not destroys it?

My daughter is going to start school next year, and we are choosing between local schools because we value staying close to home and time with the family over something like English language or a philosophy.

But watching this makes me panic a little.  Because I don’t want this girl who makes art out of trash to learn that there is only one answer, in either Sweden or the US.

Personally, I was good at school, but I also know that it selected certain skills and neglected others, and that now I do not value my school skills as highly as those other skills that I either had to develop on my own or that are frustratingly hard to work on in adulthood.

I could not come up with 200 ways to use a paper clip, for instance (see the video for that) though my kids can.

Yet a long commute through Stockholm to some more creative school is out of the question.

And the animation here is awesome …

2 thoughts on “Can we find a school that builds on creativity, not destroys it?

  1. Waldorf.

    glad to find you are blogging again!

  2. I am now all about Waldorf. But there is not one anywhere near where we live, and we love where we live. The dilemma … keep the kid close with all those benefits, or go for the better school?

Leave a Reply

