A toddler in Sweden soaks in the autumn sun

My two-year-old son stood in the rising fall light watching the sun through yellow and orange trees, every tiny stem of wild grass highlighted in shadow, and he looked at me up the hill and said, “I don’t want to go.  The sun is so beautiful.”

And I let him stand there because his preschool yard is a magic forest, but one in perpetual autumn/winter shade, and in Sweden in late October, with the sun fading for six months, I just could not pull him from the glowing meadow next to the high school driveway filled with teens and into the paler shadow.

 

One thought on “A toddler in Sweden soaks in the autumn sun

  1. A little treasure of a moment, man I can’t wait to come to Sweden.

Leave a Reply

