qualifying for swedish citizenship two years earlier than I expected

I thought I could not become a Swedish citizen until I had lived in the country for five consecutive years.

I was wrong.  It is three years, since I am married to a Swedish citizen by birth.

So I can now apply for citizenship as of this fall.  And get approved by next spring.

(There is a test you can take at the Migration Board website.  For a very thorough overview of the test, go to Welcome to Sweden).

I will miss the national elections this fall.  And the royal wedding in a month.

But this brings up all kinds of mixed feelings, ones that stretch way back.  Can I be the subject of a king?  I really, really do not want to be the subject of a king, even of a nominal powerless one.

It seems quaint now – but not so quaint when I picture myself kneeling before the guy as his subject.

Ew.

More disturbingly, how do I handle the still-palpable feeling of the Swedish folk and all the blood, ethnic baggage that carries?  Will I be less American?  How cool is it to get an EU passport?  How cool will it be to have the same passports as my two Swedish-American kids?

Lot to think about.

2 thoughts on “qualifying for swedish citizenship two years earlier than I expected

  1. That’s awesome on getting dual citizenship.

    As for being the subject of the king, I wouldn’t want to be one either. I wonder if you were really young (less than 20), would you be required to serve in the military.

    Keep us updated on the process to citizenship!

Leave a Reply

