going abroad – to new york

I am getting on a plane tomorrow to Newark.  And suddenly I feel like I did going to Eastern Europe in the early and mid-90’s.  Uncertainty. Instability. A sense of doom even greater (for me) than 9/11.  We haven’t been hit that hard yet here in Europe, and the news out of the states is so unreal and unprecedented, it is simply foreign.  Also, for the first time in my life, the impacts are real.  I know people who could lose jobs, who might not sell their house.  Nothing drastic but even the thought of it …

Got to call my grandfather and bone up on the Great Depression.  Just ask Sarah Palin.

Leave a Reply

